Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

July 24, 2019

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 18, 2019, with the hearings commencing at 9:00 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Supreme Court

Seat 5 The Honorable George C. James Jr., Sumter, SC

Court of Appeals

Seat 7 The Honorable Stephanie Pendarvis McDonald,

Charleston, SC

Circuit Court

At-Large, Seat 11 The Honorable Alison Renee Lee, Columbia, SC

At-Large, Seat 12 The Honorable Thomas A. Russo, Florence, SC

At-Large, Seat 13 Amanda A. Bailey, Myrtle Beach, SC

Erin E. Bailey, Mt. Pleasant, SC Maryann Blake, Walterboro, SC Debbie Chapman, Chapin, SC

The Honorable Joe M. Crosby, Georgetown, SC

H. Steven DeBerry IV, Pamplico, SC

The Honorable Marvin H. Dukes III, Beaufort, SC

Sanford Cox Graves, Garden City Beach, SC

Janice Holmes, West Columbia, SC

B. Alex Hyman, Conway, SC

Kyliene L. Keesley, West Columbia, SC William Vickery Meetze, Marion, SC Jane H. Merrill, Greenwood, SC

Family Court 3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 W. T. Geddings Jr., Manning, SC Ernest Joseph Jarrett, Kingstree, SC 4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Michael S. Holt, Hartsville, SC 5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Blakely Copeland Cahoon, Columbia, SC Laurel Eden Harvey Hendrick, Columbia, SC Shawn L. Reeves, Columbia, SC C. Vance Stricklin Jr., Columbia, SC 6th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Debra A. Matthews, Blackstock, SC 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 5 Spiros Stavros Ferderigos, Charleston, SC Kathleen Moraska Ferri, Charleston, SC Marissa K. Jacobson, Charleston, SC Julianne M. Stokes, Charleston, SC 10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 M. Scott McElhannon, Anderson, SC Brittany Dreher Senerius, Anderson, SC 13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 5 The Honorable Tarita A. Dunbar, Greenville, SC 14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Jean K. McCormick, Beaufort, SC The Honorable Douglas L. Novak, Bluffton, SC 15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Ronald R. Norton, Murrells Inlet, SC At-Large, Seat 1 **Ashley Phillips Case**, Fountain Inn, SC Martha M. Rivers Davisson, Aiken, SC Deanne M. Gray, Summerville, SC Jenny A. Horne, Summerville, SC Scarlet B. Moore, Greenville, SC Kimaka (Kim) Nichols-Graham, Greenville, SC Heather Vry Scalzo, Greenville, SC Kenneth P. Shabel, Greenville, SC R. Chadwick (Chad) Smith, Rock Hill, SC

Administrative Law Court

Seat 3 The Honorable Harold W. (Bill) Funderburk Jr.,

Camden, SC

Seat 4 The Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden, Columbia, SC

Master –in-Equity Berkeley County

The Honorable Dale E. Van Slambrook, Goose Creek, SC

Retired Circuit Court

The Honorable Brooks P. Goldsmith, Edisto Island, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, November 4, 2019.** The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at:

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.